National Day of Stryper

22 06 2007

Last night’s members pre-sale party went GREAT, thanks to all the members who stopped by, and to all the new members who signed up! Today we’re busily preparing for tomorrow, the first “official” day of our summer sale. It promises to be a grand time in the new space, and we look forward to seeing you all there.

I sincerely hope that everyone’s preparations for the National Day of Stryper are going well.

stryper.jpg

That’s right, it’s time to break out your Jimmy Swaggert prayer cloths because June 7, 2007, or “7-7-07” is fast approaching. Now’s the time to start thinking (or rethinking) how you’re going to celebrate. I mean after all, we’re talking 80s Christian metal from the OC, yo.

I remember back in the 80s when I used to read a lot of metal ‘zines – there was always a Stryper ad wedged in there between ads for The Accused’s Return of Martha Splatterhead, DRI’s Crossover and Ludichrist’s Immaculate Deception. Great albums, these (yeah, the ARChive has copies). And of course, we have tons of Stryper. More than I expected, really. (Bet you didn’t know that To Hell With the Devil went platinum!) For example, I found two copies of the above, To Hell With The Devil with the “limited edition” cover art. Not being the biggest Stryper fan (well, not one at all), I was only familiar with the black cover, so this came as something of a shock. I mean, it kind of looks like something you’d expect from Manowar, right?

Anyway, seeing as how this year’s National Day of Slayer went so well, I will observe 7-7-07 by listening to Slayer, some Kreator…perhaps even a little Mastodon. When you know what your plans are, why not drop them into the comments? We here at the ARChive would like to know.


Actions

Information

8 responses

29 06 2007
Soylent Ape

Kreator is such an underrated band. Terrible Certainty and Flag of Hate are amazing, as are Coma of Souls and Extreme Aggression. Mille is still soldiering on. Good for him!

29 06 2007
arcmusic

Totally. I really loved “Flag of Hate” when it first came out. Around that time (86? 87?), I remember wanting to go see them play with Voi Vod in Boston, but it was an 18+ show and I ended up not being able to go, much to my dissatisfaction.

14 09 2007
Rick this is Sally

Rick try going to http://www.threesixies.com say hi to Angela and your mom for me Sally Huntington.

30 07 2012
Varija Ramakrishnan

I’m very relieved to see there’s still some good
content online. I have gotten so fed up with google sending me garbage.

27 02 2013
american Alternative Rock Bands

Very quickly this site will be famous among all blog people, due to it’s fastidious content

24 09 2014
evaristo

Νo espera encontrar սn post asi aqui sin embargo estoy
gratamente satisfecho en esta ocasion

8 10 2014
Thurman

FOS, classified as a prebiotic, is a non-caloric
sweetener and also a fiber source. Sugar adds flavor to every food and not having this might not give you an appetite to
eat. White mulberry extract, on the other hand, is made from white
mulberry.

9 02 2017

Leave a comment